OCTOBER 2009 – WELL, THAT WAS FUN!

I THANK YOU, AND THE PEOPLE IN THE FOLLOWING SLIDE SHOW THANK YOU.

Many of you will remember that a couple of years ago I cycled (along with the stalwart David Tod of Full Circle Graphics) from London to Paris, covering the 300 miles in 4 days to raise money to help build a school and a nursery on behalf of the Ufoundation in Zambia, organised by the sterling enthusiasm of the amazing Jay Tailor.

Well, Jay told me that I WOULD visit Zambia one day to see the work that was going on. He was right, because I paid a wheen of money to visit the country; to visit the schools (NO money came out of the charity) and to see some animals wild in the bush. But it was the people – my God, the enthusiasm of the people – that left me an emotional wreck. Their determination to succeed and their gratefulness for a hand-up have to be experienced to be believed.

So, to all those who supported me and the Ufoundation, I have put a slide show together (the music is fantastic, too) where you will see some of the sights (and sites!) of Zambia. But MORE IMPORTANTLY you will see the work going on at the school and some of the villagers who YOU – the readers of this newsletter – have helped in a way you will never fully comprehend. Each and every one of the kids in these pictures has been touched by your kindness and generosity.

I thank you. And on behalf of all those wonderful children who live in tiny mud huts with no electricity, no money, no running water and no parents… I thank you, too. You have given them education; you have given them hope. Each of them would give you a hug if they could.

And if you have a dry eye at the end of the slide show, you are a stronger person than I

Thanks to the generous hearts of – among others – Alex Burns,  Elite Control Systems, Jackie,  Paul J, TMC Speak Out, Paul Zenon, Springfield, Gill Mulhall, Anne McNaught, Kirsty Muir, Kevin Newey, Andrew Speake, Celtair, Douglas and Fiona, Scott C., GuruDodo (Don Jack,) Stubags (Stuart Farquhar), Colin Mcleod, Evelyn Howlett, Brendan Bolland, Douglas Cairns, Brian & Jackie, Robin McIntosh, Wendy McAllister, Ian the Magician, Louise Rawlings, Terry, Peter Owen, Fiona Goldthorpe, Robbie Glen, Jayesh Tailor, Richard Smith, David Lesault, Steve Harley, Gina, Ian Wax Man, Sheila Alexander,  Joyce and Yves, Maggie Watson, Lynn McLeod, Susie Townson, Charles McCullagh, Dave Arcari, Linz (Gordon, Craig Steele, Julie Anderson / Funky Gibbon!… and of course all those who supported these kids offline and those who were “anonymous”

You were responsible for much of this… Please, pour yourself a cup of coffee, sit back, and watch – and give yourself a huge pat on the back.

YOU MAY ALSO WANT TO WATCH THIS.

This is a short video “commercial” shot by Steve MacKay (Slap TV), with Don Jack (Ideas) sort of… directing and editing. I think what they have done is really rather good… if a little weird. What do you think?

WHAT, ANOTHER VIDEO?

Yes. I sent this out to a select few and had an amazing response. Okay, it may be childish “bloke” humour, but if you don’t laugh out loud then you’d probably better check your pulse!

(My Mate Billy McMurray emailed back: “Oh, my Gawd, that is sooooo you!” I have taken it as a compliment.)

THE COLUMN

I write a weekly newspaper column and I stick it up on the web in a blog format. For some reason, this little item got the imagination of a lot of people running. PLEASE check out the comment and suggestion at the end by PZ (TV trickster Paul Zenon) The man ain’t right!

http://drewsmuse.wordpress.com/2009/10/25/the-great-junk-mail-plan/

LAST CHANCE

Not long to go now.

Thursday 19th of November in the plush surroundings of the ballroom at Gleneagles Hotel: “Prices from £375 per room, based on two adults sharing, include: Cocktails and canapé reception, 3-Course dinner – with accompanying wine – Overnight accommodation  – Full Scottish breakfast and some superb entertainment.”

Entertainment? Oh, yes: Rory Bremner, widely rated as Britain’s sharpest impressionist, best known for his biting political satire. Drew McAdam (that’s me.) Welcome to the exciting world of Mindplay. And Raven Stephanie Benedetti, Kirsty Mangan, Natalie Holt and Rachael Lander provide an energetic interpretation of classical repertoire. Raven’s eclectic set list includes works from Vivaldi to Morricone and has already impressed audiences around the country; most recently centre stage at the London Palladium.

I will certainly be messing around onstage with Rory Bremner – Kaye Adams is the compere to ensure things don’t go too far. There will be a special surprise for the audience and Rory when “HS” puts in an appearance. Who is HS? Come along and find out!

http://www.gleneagles.com/prices-amp-offers/special-offers/satire-music-and-mindplay

Some of you have already informed me that you will be there – make sure you take the time to say hello. I have to rush off straight away for a gig in Aberdeen the following day, but I will be most disappointed if we don’t meet up!

GIGS THIS MONTH:

Hello to everybody who was at the couple of Gleneagles gigs, the Balmoral Hotel performance, and at the Chardon D’or gig in Glasgow. Did we have fun, or WHAT?

GIGS NEXT MONTH

And so it starts… Even as you are reading this I’m off on a week of driving and performances that will take me to Kent, Brighton and Bristol. Then there is Aberdeen, Auchterarder  and a series of gigs in Ayr. Busy and performing is the way I like it!

Many thanks to Douglas Gillespie, my manager, who organises everything and is the voice of reason when I want to go chasing butterflies.

I hope each and every one of you have a wonderful November (such a great time of year, don’t you think?) Please, DO take the time to let me know what you are up to and what is going on in your lives.

If you met me over the past month and I haven’t given it a mention – that includes the meeting of the BBC and STV with John Redshaw and Anne McNaught, and a brief “hello” to Peter – and a great couple of hours with Paul Johnson (sorry I didn’t shut up – your turn to talk next time!) please forgive me… I really AM trying to keep this as short as possible.

Best wishes,

Drew McAdam

One Response to “OCTOBER 2009 – WELL, THAT WAS FUN!”

  1. Len Murray Says:

    Great stuff, Drew! Best wishes and say Hi to Kaye when you see her.

Leave a comment