SEPTEMBER 2009 – THAT WAS

 

Drew McAdam Newsletter: SEPTEMBER 2009

Good Lord… what happened to this month? It was the fastest ever! 

DO YOU WANT A TRULY FANTASTIC NIGHT AWAY?

LOOK…. Here is something really special. In November I’m doing a one-off show with the fabulous satirist and impersonator Rory Bremner. Now, I know he’s a hugely popular act, so tickets are going rather speedily at the moment. But if you want a really swish, special night out then this might just be for you.

Thursday 19 November 2009. Join Rory Bremner, Drew McAdam and Raven in The Ballroom at Gleneagles for a sensational evening of satire, mindplay and music.”

Besides the entertainment, with this black tie event – in Scotland’s premier hotel – prices include overnight accommodation for two, cocktails and canapé reception, a 3-Course dinner, with accompanying wine, and full Scottish breakfast. You know, that’s a GREAT deal!

You can read more about it here: http://www.gleneagles.com/prices-amp-offers/special-offers/satire-music-and-mindplay

GIGS THIS MONTH

There were some lovely little gigs this month, including a really fun performance at Gleneagles, and one at Stirling University. I had a great time at a hotel near Peebles – an after dinner event for an SSPCA fundraiser – and a show in Aberdeen for a fantastic bunch from PlanB. It was busy, without panic, which suits me just fine.

AUNTIE BEEB

For some reason, I’ve been busy with the BBC lately. In fact I had two appearances this month on the ever-popular Fred MacAulay show, and an hour in the company of the “Off the Ball” crew – Tam Cowan and Stuart Cosgrove; a couple of very funny fella’s. (They bill the show as “petty and irreverent!”)

Drew McAdam joined Stuart and Tam for some mind-boggling laughs. Drew (centre) messed with the minds of Stuart and Tam

Drew McAdam joined Stuart and Tam for some mind-boggling laughs. Drew (centre) messed with the minds of Stuart and Tam

By odd coincidence, at the same time I was on the Fred MacAulay show, one of the Trisha Goddard  “The Interrogator” episodes was being transmitted on Channel 5. I like the idea of being two places at once!

You can hear a section from one of the shows here.

DON’T CALL ME…

During a recent live radio broadcast I had forgotten to switch my phone off (I know! I know!) Just as we were bringing the show to a close, I received a text. My text ring, by the way, is a repetitive submarine sonar “ping!”. THAT caused a bit of a stir! Anyway, it was my mate Dave Cairns who happened to catch the show, texting me to tell me I was on the radio… (I know! I know) All very embarrassing.

Anyway, when I was on two weeks later I received another text (this time, having finished the broadcast and switched my phone on again). It was from Dave again and simply said: “Hope you’re switched off this time!”

Yes, I was. But with friends like that…

FILMING

I spent half a day filming with Smack TV for a project by Falkirk-based Ideas. It’s for an on-line commercial, and having seen the rushes, I have to tell you there is some remarkable footage her. Funny and innovative – it’s not quite ready for posting here yet, but I’ll let you know when it is.

ART FOR ART’S SAKE

And here’s a weird one: Look, I’m no artist, but well known, and fabulously talented, Russian artist (now residing in Scotland) somehow talked me into exhibiting three of my watercolours at an exhibition.  It’s on over this weekend at Pollokshields Burgh Halls in Glasgow. So, if you are in the area then you might want to pop in and see my Scottish scenes (by Drew McAdam aged 54 and a half.)

The web site says: “…allows art lovers to purchase top class art” Ha! They haven’t seen my stuff yet. That’ll drag the whole thing down a few levels!

I’m sure the pro’s who are exhibiting will have some fabulous stuff on view, including the works by Ms Kourenkova. (By the way, her stuff is fast becoming a real investment, so I wouldn’t hang around! http://www.elenakourenkova.com

SHORT FILM

My good friend Ian Rowland drew my attention to theis, a short film entitled “The Story of a Sign”. I think it’s marvellous, and I’m sure you will agree.

SO LONG, HOBO, MY LITTLE FRIEND

Me very sad (sniff). It was going to happen one day I suppose, but I had to have my wee dog, Hobo, put to sleep this month. She has been with me for a long time, and we’d become used to each others ways. I still keep taking breaks from my work to go and have a chat with her, except… Sorely missed, I can tell you. 

Hobo on a nice, warm summer day.

Hobo on a nice, warm summer day.

GIGS NEXT MONTH

In among the usual cracking wee private gigs this month I have a a charity bash (with the great Gary James) at Melville Castle (oooh!) One at The Balmoral (Ooooooh!) and two big shows at Gleneagles (OOOOOOOHHH!) All thanks to my manager Douglas Gillespie who obviously knows what he’s doing!

Don’t forget to check out the blog version of my newspaper column., You can read the last few entries here: http://drewsmuse.wordpress.com/

May you all have a fabulous October; if you do – or even if you don’t – please take the time to drop me a note and tell me.

Best wishes

Drew McAdam

Leave a comment