AUGUST 2010 – What a REMARKABLE month…

Well, that has to have been my most favourite job ever. I was in St Petersburg, Russia for 4 gigs, but it entailed a total of eight days. I was performing in the Yuspov Palace, where Rasputin was murdered.

But what made this work – I mean REALLY work – was that the palace has a small (3-tier ) private theatre, and I performed each night on that very stage, once graced by such luminaries as Lizst, Schostakovith and Chopin.

The running order was a selection of ballet pieces, Cossack dancers, then – to close – it was wee mee. Can you imagine? Possibly not, so I have pasted a picture of the theatre. Ostentatious, perhaps. But what a thrill.

Besides that, I spent my free days and evenings just walking and jumping on buses when I had absolutely no idea where they might take me, exploring every corner of the place. I was in an old Soviet submarine, in museums, discovering hidden galleries, historic sites, palaces, and cafes. Then there was the boat trip along the many canals and rivers. I couldn’t even start to tell you just what an amazing and thrilling adventure it all was.

of course, there was also the fact that my luggage didn’t turn up, and when it did Customs officers wanted a wee word with me. Ooops! But it all turned out well in the end, and it all added to the Great Adventure.

Very few of the city dwellers speak English, and my Russian doesn’t exist – but that didn’t matter. All I can say is that the place leaves even Paris in the shade. If you are going to do one thing in your life, then make sure it is a visit to St Petersburg.

Anyway, this was my view from the stage (except, yes, it was filled with people!) 

View from the stage. Impressive, huh?

_______________________________________________________

DO YOU RUN YOUR OWN BUSINESS? OR ARE YOU INVOLVED IN SALES AND NEGOTIATIONS?

Then this will be of interest to you. (If you live in Central Scotland, that is!)

I am running three business seminars under the banner of MindBiz. This all started after a very quick demonstration at a local Business Network Group, and though offering the techniques and skills often employed by mentalists and mindreaders as a business tool was always something I intended to do at some point in the future, this has spurred me into action – the result being MindBiz.

(Thank you to David, Martha, Douglas and Wendy for all your input, hard work and encouragement – this is going to be great!)

MINDBIZ – SECRETS OF A MIND READER REVEALED.

16 September: Tackling the Impossible.

14 October: Communication Without Words.

17 November: Influencing Thoughts and Behaviours.

Within those seminars we will be covering everything from non-verbal cues to memory techniques, and impossible versus possible to instant report in sales and negotiation. Plus the SPIDER sales technique.

Tickets are £50 (plus a small registration fee) and you can find out more and book your place here: www.mindbiz.co.uk

________________________________________________________________

 

ONE THING:

One of my recent newspaper columns caused a bit of a stir: in fact Tam McAdam in the US – he must be a relation somewhere along the line, and I find that rather worrying 🙂  – sent it to Barack Obama. I have had loads of feedback on it, and you can read the blog version at the link below.

A good friend sent me a remarkable email recently. And in the light of a damning Care Commission report about a specific West Lothian nursing home, it seemed all the more relevant.

The email suggested that it would be a good plan to put all the pensioners in jail, and all the criminals in a nursing home.

Crazy? No, consider this: such a move would mean… Read More: http://drewsmuse.wordpress.com/2010/08/15/prisoner-plan/

AND ANOTHER THING…

Thank you to all who emailed me to tell me I got a mention or two on the front page of the Wall Street Journal! How cool was THAT?!

OOPS – JUST ONE MORE.

The BBC have uploaded video from the BrainSmart sessions. There are a few, and you’ll finf themn if you hunt around on the site, but here are two to get you started.

Newspaper memory Challenge: http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p007rc03

And Spoon bending http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p007rby6

If it stops and says “not available in your area” just click to reload or resume and it will play (this works in the UK, anyway.) I presume there is a glitch in the system somewhere.

NEXT MONTH:

September is usually quite a quiet month, but not this year. Recession? What recession? Gigs include:

A private gig in West Lothian for a hi-tech company and friends.

The Edinburgh University Fresher Week performance in The Pleasance Theatre, Edinburgh

There are 3 gigs / workshops in Aberdeen

The MindBiz seminar at the Novo Hotel, Edinburgh

Corporate gig in Basingstoke

A gig at the Roxburgh Hotel, Edinburgh

And another at the Old Course Hotel, St Andrews

Dasvidania (Till I see you again)

Drew McAdam

3 Responses to “AUGUST 2010 – What a REMARKABLE month…”

  1. Maggie Says:

    Life is just not fair. St Petersburg! God I would LOVE to go there. You lucky old sod, you.

  2. Julie Says:

    Just came up in conversation today (you did a private function for me about 3 years ago) and I notice you have couple of gigs this month – poss in Roxburgh, Edinburgh or St Andrews….have I missed them and/or are they open to public? Would love to bring a couple of workmates 🙂

    • drewsmuse Says:

      Al private, I’m afraid. But now that you’ve signed up to the blog, you will know if there are any (few and far between) public gigs. There’s bound to be another at at some point! Drew McAdam

Leave a comment